current season

Current season

IET Faraday Challenge Days 2018-19

The 2018-19 season of Faraday Challenge Days is set to be our biggest season to date! These events will be aimed at Year 8 (England) and their equivalents across the whole of the UK. 

The challenge this year will be kept under wraps until we arrive at your school, but we can tell you our partner this year is the James Webb Space Telescope for a challenge that is out of this world! You don't need to worry as we will be bringing everything that your students need to complete the challenge with us. The season will start in September 2018 and run right through to June 2019. 

The National Final is in July

The winning team from each event will take home a voucher for themselves as well as gaining a place on the league table. The top five teams at the end of the season will go forward into the National Final in July 2019 where they will be treated to an all-expenses-paid trip to Edinburgh as well as being in with the chance of taking home £1,000 for their school to spend on STEM activities.

Taking part?

The information packs for the 2018-19 season of events can be downloaded from the links below. These packs provide you with all of the details required for hosting and/or participating in one of our Faraday Challenge Days so please do read through the information carefully.

Option A

For all school hosts inviting schools to take part in their challenge days, please download the following:

Option C

For all Jack Petchey Foundation school hosts, please download the following:

State schools in London and Essex are invited to take part in the Faraday Challenge Day season, sponsored by the Jack Petchey Foundation. Finalists from each event are invited to attend the JPF Festival for Aspiring Engineers in the summer to celebrate their achievements. All teachers involved in the programme are invited to attend a STEM development session to learn more about the Faraday programme and the wider range of STEM activities available to them.

Faraday Challenge Day media toolkit

If you are taking part in a Faraday Challenge Day we want you to shout about it to your local media.

Regional newspapers, radio and television stations love stories like the IET Faraday Challenge Days, because they show local students doing exciting and innovative new things with engineering and technology skills.

Download the 2018-19 Faraday Challenge Day Media Toolkit here.

Host schools 2018-19

The 2018-19 season of Faraday Challenge Days received 322 applications to host one of the 68 in-school events available. We are very pleased to announce that a number of organisations have come forward and offered to sponsor an event taking the total tally up to 189 Faraday Challenge Days.

These organisations include Airbus, Arconic, the Jack Petchey Foundation and the Science & Technology Facilities Council. The 2018-19 host schools will be shown in the lists below as soon as these are confirmed. Please do check back to view this list to see if we will be running an event near you.


  • Admiral Lord Nelson School
  • Airbus Facility, Bristol
  • Airedale Academy
  • All Hallows Catholic High School
  • ARK Evelyn Grace Academy
  • Arnold Academy
  • Barnwell School
  • Bay House School
  • Belmont Community School
  • Bethany School
  • Beverley Grammar School
  • Bishop Wordsworth Grammar School for Boys
  • Bluecoat C of E Academy
  • Bowlands High School
  • Bullerswood School
  • Brighton Aldridge Community Academy
  • Chase High School
  • Chistlehurst and Sidcup Grammar
  • Chiswick School
  • Christ the King College
  • Clacton County High School
  • Colchester County High School for Girls
  • Concorde Museum, Bristol
  • Dereham Neatherd School
  • Eastbrook School
  • Edmonton County School
  • Ellesmere College
  • Erdington Academy
  • Ernest Bevin College
  • Fearnhill School
  • Fulneck School
  • Furness Academy
  • Glossopdale School
  • Gordano School
  • Great Marlow School
  • Greenford School
  • Greenwich Free School
  • Grey Court School
  • Haberdashers' Abraham Darby
  • Halewood Academy
  • Harlington School
  • Harris Girls Academy East Dulwich
  • Harris Academy Purley
  • Harris Academy Rainham
  • Harris Academy St John's Wood
  • Heritage High School
    Herne Bay High School
  • Highams Park School
  • Holsworthy Community College
  • Honley High School
  • Horsforth School
  • ISCA Academy
  • Kettering Science Academy
  • King Ecgberts School
  • King Edward VI Camp Hill School for Girls
  • Kingsley Academy
  • Lady Eleanor Holles
  • Lady Margaret School
  • Langley Park School for Girls
  • Lilian Baylis Technology School
  • Loxford School
  • Malden Oaks PRU
  • Maltings Academy
  • Millfield Achool
  • Mount School
  • Nailsea School
  • Netherhall Learning Campus High School
  • Newcastle High School for Girls
  • Northallerton School and Sixth Form College
  • Notre Dame School
  • Oasis Academy Mayfield
  • Oasis Academy Southbank
  • Old Palace of John Whitgift
  • Orleans Park School
  • Overton Grange
  • Park High School
  • Parkside Academy
  • Philip Morant School and College
  • Polesworth School
  • Ramsey Academy
  • Ravensbourne School
  • Reddish Vale High School
  • Riddlesdown Collegiate
  • Sarah Bonnell School
  • Seven Kings School
  • Shenfield High School
  • Sherrardswood School
  • Soar Valley College
  • Southborough High School
  • Southchurch School
  • Space Studio Banbury
  • S Anselms School & College
  • St Catherine's Catholic School for Girls
  • St George's School
  • St John's College
  • St Marks West Essex Catholic Academy
  • St Mary's Middle School
  • St Peter's School
  • St Richard's Catholic College
  • St Thomas More Catholic School
  • STFC Daresbury Laboratory
  • STFC Rutherford Appleton Labratory
  • Stowmarket High School
  • Sweynes Park School
  • Tabor Academy
  • The Burgess Hill Academy
  • The Bromford School
  • The Cowplain School
  • The Nottingham Emmanuel School
  • The Petchey Academy
  • The Sandon School
  • Thomas Alleyne Academy
  • Thomas Gainsborough School
  • Tiffin Girls School
  • Tile Cross Academy
  • Tolworth Girls School
  • Uckfield College
  • Ursuline Academy Ilford
  • Vyners School
  • Wallington High School for Girls
  • Walney School
  • Walthamstow School for Girls
  • Wellington School
  • Weydon School
  • Whitley Academy
  • Woodfield Academy

Northern Ireland

  • Cookstown High School
  • Dalriada School
  • St Franchea's Collage
  • St Paul's High School


  • Bearsden Academy
  • Belmont Academy
  • Bishopbriggs Academy
  • Blairgowrie High School
  • Garnock Community Campus
  • Grange Academy
  • Irvine Royal Academy
  • Kilsyth Academy
  • Kinross Academy
  • Lomond Academy
  • St Columbas High School


  • Alun School Mold
  • Connah's Quay High School
  • St Julian's School
  • St Richard Gwyn Catholic High School
  • Ysgol Clywedog
  • Ysgol Dinas Bran
  • Ysgol Dyffryn Aman
  • Ysgol Gyfun Emlyn

IET Academic Partner Universities

Twelve of the IET Academic Partner Universities will be hosting a Faraday Challenge Day during the 2018-19 season and these are shown below. 

  • Anglia Ruskin University
  • Coventry University
  • Lancaster University
  • Liverpool John Moores University
  • Loughborough University
  • Plymouth University
  • Queen Mary University of London
  • Queen's University Belfast
  • Teesside University
  • University of Bristol
  • University of Derby
  • University of Greenwich
  • University of Manchester
  • University of Nottingham
  • University of Portsmouth
  • University of Sunderland
  • University of York