Previous winners

Celebrating the previous winners of the IET Faraday Challenge Days.

2017-18 season

The 2017-18 season was our biggest season to date! The 2017-18 season of Faraday Challenge Days has seen 167 events take place across the county, with 480 schools and 5670 students involved!

In its 10th anniversary year the Faraday Challenge partnered with Thorpe Park to give students an adrenalin packed challenge where they had to design a new attraction for the theme park and make a working prototype of one element of their design which had to include a circuit.

The National Final took place at Thorpe Park on 11th July 2018 and King Edward VI Camp Hill School for Girls in Birmingham won the title.

Thank you to everyone involved in the season - let's hope we can make the Faraday programme even bigger next year!

National Final 2017-18 - Highlights

The top 5 teams from the 2017-18 season went head-to-head at the National Final at Thorpe Park to win up to £1,000 for their school. Watch this video to see how they got on.

2016-17 season

For the 2016-17 season the Faraday Challenge Day team travelled the length and breadth of the country running 140 events and meeting some fantastic 12-13 year old students.

Students were tasked with designing two prototypes using a BBC micro:bit that would improve the performance of the Land Rover BAR team in their bid to win the America's Cup! 

The National Final took place at the Land Rover BAR base in Portsmouth on 12th July 2017 - a fantastic event which saw the team from Hammersmith Academy take home the top prize for their school and their very proud teachers as shown in the image featured.

2015-16 winners

The 2015-16 season was a season with a difference! Instead of our usual Year 8 students, for this season only the challenges were aimed at Year 7 students to tie in with the BBC micro:bit project. A total of 126 events took place involving 309 schools and 4338 students! 

Kings' School from Winchester took home the champions trophy after being crowned the overall winners at the National Final at Bletchley Park on 15th July 2016.

A big thank you to all the host schools and supporting organisations!

2014-15 winners

The 2014-15 season of Faraday Challenge Days involved 47 schools, 12 academic partner universities and over 2,000 students! 

Ulverston Victoria High School were crowned the overall winners at the National Final on 19th June 2015.

2013-14 winners

The 2013-14 season of Faraday Challenge Days involved over 2080 students with 171 schools taking part in venues throughout the UK. 45 host schools took part, as well as 12 IET academic partner host universities and a 2 further events were held at the Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC) laboratories in Warrington and Oxfordshire.

Kingsbridge Community College were crowned the overall winners at the National Final on 20th June 2014.

Thanks to all the host schools and organisations that supported us this season!